Dike vs. man 1-0

That was a hard pill to swallow, never have I been forced to turn around and go home, because I wouldn’t get were I wanted to.

The weather forecast foretold that it would be a bit windy. That has never stopped me from getting on my bike and set off. That counts for every touring cyclist, I presume. I just thought I wanted some headwind at first, stay at a Warmshowers host and then have tailwind the other day back home. All in all, my new bike needs to be run in.

Article_45061_width_800_height_450_crop_True_center_True

The closing dike.

 

There is a dike between the province of Fryslân and the province of North Holland called the ‘afsluitdijk’ (closing dike). With that the Sudersee (South See) become a lake, the Iselmar. It is an impressive structure, especially when you realise that it’s build almost a century ago. But if you have to cycle over it, or better said, want to cycle over it, the 32 kilometers are long and very tedious. And when you have a strong headwind, it gets even more tedious and a little frustrating as well. I reached the monument of Lely – the engineer of the dike – when it was already quite late and dark. By then the wind only grew stronger, instead of declining, which I hoped it would do. I had to make a decision and I chose to back down. I didn’t want to be a bother to my host to arrive very late. I too have to admit I was a little fed up about the fact I wasn’t going much faster than a snail. To make matters worse, the heavens had openend themselves, so it  poured down. It didn’t take long to cycle back home, the storm was really raging, so most of the time I didn’t even had to pedal at all!

But I agreed with my host that I’ll pay them a visit in the nearby future. The dike won this battle, but absolutely not the war!
I just have to get it out of the back of my head that this ‘failure’ won’t be an omen for my adventure. But than again I have my tent, so I can pitch it everywhere I want (so to speak) and when I am in Kazachstan, I don’t have the possibility to turn ’round and cycle home.

800px-Standbeeld_Lely_Afsluitdijk

The monument of Lely (so I didn’t take this photograph).

 

 

2 thoughts on “Dike vs. man 1-0

Leave a Reply

